05 OCTOBER 2023, MANILA — The Philippines has been selected as the venue for an international conference on Coastal and Port Engineers from Oct. 9-13, 2023 through the Philippine Ports Authority (PPA). 

The 10th International Conference on  Coastal Port Engineering in Developing Countries (COPEDEC) is organized the by the Permanent International Association of Navigation Congresses (PIANC) together with PPA to provide an international forum for engineers from developing countries and a venue for exchange of experiences especially on Waterborne Transport Infrastructure development. 

PPA General Manager Jay Santiago expresses utmost gratitude that the agency is given an opportunity to host an international event with huge contribution to the continuous improvement of the country’s port infrastructure projects.

“With the typhoons and other natural disasters posing constant threat to the Philippines, discussion on resilient infrastructure designs coupled with disaster risk reduction initiatives on waterborne transportation during the COPEDEC conference will be highly relevant to the country’s disaster resilience efforts at ports nationwide”, said PPA GM Santiago.

PPA has been an active member of PIANC since 2013 which holds COPEDEC conference every four (4) years. The activity was formerly set to be conducted in the Philippines in 2020 but due to COVID-19 pandemic, it was postponed and will be held in the country this October 2023. 

The conference will cover all aspects of ports from planning, construction, and maintenance within a week full of workshops,  technical sessions, and training opportunities to attendees. An exhibit displaying waterborne transport- related initiatives will likewise be opened on October 10, 2023 and will be displayed until October 13, 2023 at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) in Pasay City, Philippines. 

Among the member-countries currently forming part of PIANC were Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Colombia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, HQ India, Iran, Italy, Japan, Korea, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Serbia, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.S.A. and United Kingdom.