About the Philippine Ports Authority



The Philippine Ports Authority (PPA) is a government agency created under Presidential Decree Number 505 (PD 505) issued on 11 July 1974. In December of 1975, Presidential Decree Number 857 was released amending PD 505 and effectively expanded the scope and function of the organization, to include the implementation of an integrated program for the planning, development, financing, operation and maintenance of ports or port management offices in the entire country under its port system. PPA is an attached agency of the Department of Transportation (DOTr) for policy and program coordination regarding maritime concerns.

Executive Order Number 513 (EO 513) issued in 1978 further broadened the functions of the agency, granting the PPA police authority, creating the National Port Advisory Council and empowering the agency to exact reasonable administrative fines for specific violations of its rules and regulations. Similarly, Executive Order Number 159, released in 1987, vested the PPA with the function of undertaking all port construction projects under its jurisdictional area and granted financial autonomy to the Authority.

A Board of Directors govern the Philippine Ports Authority. The Department of Transportation Secretary serves as Chairperson and the PPA General Manager as Vice-chairperson. Other members include the Heads of the National Economic and Development Authority, the Department of Public Works and Highways, the Department of Finance, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, the Department of Trade and Industry, the Maritime Industry Authority, and a lone representative from the private sector.

Currently, the PPA has 25 Port Management Offices (PMO) scattered nationwide to manage the 115 ports under its system, which include:


  • Northern Luzon

  • NCR-South

  • NCR-North

  • Bataan/Aurora

  • Batangas

  • Marinduque/Quezon

  • Mindoro

  • Palawan

  • Panay/Guimaras

  • Bicol

  • Masbate

  • Negros/Siquijor

  • Western/Southern Leyte/Biliran

  • Eastern Leyte/Samar

  • Bohol

  • Negros Occidental/Bacolod/Banago/Bredco

  • Misamis Occidental/Ozamiz

  • Misamis Oriental/Cagayan De Oro

  • Agusan

  • Davao

  • Cotabato

  • Socsargen

  • Zamboanga Del Norte

  • Zamboanga

  • Surigao

  • Lanao Del Norte/Iligan


The PPA has a workforce of around 3,000 personnel and posting an average annual net income of PHP 5 billion. In the last 6 years, PPA remitted close to PHP 20 billion in dividend to the national coffers enabling the agency to be part of the ‘billionaires club’ of Government-Owned and Controlled Corporations (GOCCs).